top of page

When you have a Palais, you don't need a castle.

Located at the foot of the characterful village of Ambierle, the family wine estate extends over 15 hectares of land, 6 of which are cultivated with vines, made up of a range of 5 grape varieties -Gamay, Syrah, Viognier, Roussane and Gewürztraminer - offering no less than 11 unique vintages.

Since 2007, our commitment to organic practices has been total, providing our vines with the necessary respect and care. The AOC and IGP labels authenticate our respect for the terroir and the quality of our production.

Domaine des Palais is much more than just a story of grapes and wine. Founded in 1850, the family estate overcame the tests of time, from wine crises until its rebirth under the leadership of Yann Palais at the turn of the millennium. Each bottle is a testimony to this passion that drives us.

That's not all ! The Domaine des Palais also has a reception room.  Formerly dedicated to monks, it retains its old-world charm with a wooded structure and stone walls, while displaying a contemporary touch. Nestled in a 6000 m² park, it offers a breathtaking view of our vineyards and the village of Ambierle, renowned for its history and architecture.

Come and live an authentic experience, where tradition, passion and rigor combine to offer you more than a simple tasting: an immersion in the exciting world of wine.

1850

Created in 1850, Domaine des Palais is a family estate that has been passed down from generation to generation.

With its hillside facing the rising sun and at the foot of the village of Ambierle, the estate then had 11 hectares of vines, a vat for making wine and a vaulted cellar used for aging wine in oak barrels.

Created in 1850, the Domaine des Palais is a family estate that has been passed down from generation to generation.

With its hillside facing the rising sun and at the foot of the village of Ambierle, the estate then had 11 hectares of vines, a vat for vinification and a vaulted cellar used for aging wine in oak barrels.

1956

Wine crisis in the country: the activity of the estate stops. The estate was then left abandoned until 2000.

2000

In 2000, Yann Palais, descendant of the owner, decided to revive the activity of the Domaine,After studies in viticulture and oenology.
He plants 3 ha of Gamay (thePrior’s Square) and 3,000 m² of Viognier (theGarden of the Monks). Yann is the first winegrower to establish this grape variety from the northern Rhône coasts on the Côte Roannaise!

2002

Yann continues his plantations with 5,000 m² of Viognier, 5,000 m² of Gamay (theCup of Angels) and 5,000 m² of Syrah.

2007

Already aware of ecological issues, Yann began the conversation of the estate towards organic farming in 2007, the estate will officially obtain the label in 2009.

2009

yann and sylvie.jpg

The expansion and diversification of the estate forced Yann Palais to develop a new form of reception and it was with the involvement of Sylvie, his wife, that he modernized the site with the creation ofa room and a reception focused on wine tourism.

2011

Plantation of two new grape varieties on the estate, the Roussane (7,000 m²), first harvest in 2011 and the Gewurztraminer (6,300m²), first harvest in 2012.

 

2022

François (right) joins the farm and vinifies his first vintages. With numerous experiences in world-renowned wine estates (France, Switzerland, Argentina), he brings his technique and know-how.

2023

It's the turn of Jean-Baptiste, the eldest of the siblings, to get involved in the family business after a career in an equally French branch of gastronomy: Cheese!

bottom of page

top of page

Quand on a du Palais, on n'a pas besoin de château.

Situé au pied du village de caractère d'Ambierle, le domaine viticole familial s'étend sur 15 hectares de terres, dont 6 sont exploités en vignes, composées d'une palette de 5 cépages - Gamay Saint Romain, Syrah, Viognier, Roussane et Gewürztraminer - offrant pas moins de 11 cuvées uniques.

Depuis 2007, notre engagement envers des pratiques biologiques est total, offrant à nos vignes le respect et les soins nécessaires. Les labels AOC et IGP authentifient notre respect du terroir et la qualité de notre production.

Le Domaine des Palais, c'est bien plus qu'une simple histoire de raisins et de vin. Fondé en 1850, le domaine familial a surmonté les épreuves du temps, des crises viticoles jusqu'à sa renaissance sous l'impulsion de Yann Palais au tournant du millénaire. Chaque bouteille est un témoignage de cette passion qui nous anime.

Ce n'est pas tout ! Le domaine des Palais est également doté d'une salle de réception.  Anciennement dédiée aux moines, elle conserve son charme d'antan avec une structure boisée et des murs de pierre, tout en arborant une touche contemporaine. Nichée dans un parc de 6000 m², elle offre une vue imprenable sur nos vignes et le village d'Ambierle, réputé pour son histoire et son architecture.

Venez vivre une expérience authentique, où la tradition, la passion et la rigueur se conjuguent pour vous offrir plus qu'une simple dégustation : une immersion dans l'univers passionnant du vin.

1850

Créé en 1850 le Domaine des Palais est un domaine familial qui se transmet de génération en génération.

Avec son coteau orienté vers le soleil levant et au pied du village d’Ambierle, le domaine comptait alors 11 ha de vignes, un cuvage permettant de vinifier et une cave voûtée servant à l’élevage du vin en fût de chêne.

1956

Crise viticole dans le pays : l'activité du domaine s’arrête,  il est alors laissé à l'abandon jusqu'en 2000.

2000

Yann Palais, descendant du propriétaire décide de faire renaître l’activité du Domaine, après des études en viticulture et œnologie. Il plante 3 ha de Gamay Saint Romain (le Carré du Prieur) et 3 000 m² de Viognier (le Jardin des Moines). Yann est le premier viticulteur a implanter ce cépage des côtes du Rhône septentrional sur la Côte Roannaise !

2002

Yann poursuit ses plantations avec 5 000 m² de Viognier, 5 000 m² de Gamay Saint Romain (la Tassée des Anges) et 5 000 m² de Syrah (le Temps des Griottes).

2007

Déjà conscient des enjeux écologiques, Yann entame la conversation du domaine vers l'agriculture biologique en 2007, le domaine obtiendra officiellement le label en 2009.

2009

yann et sylvie Palais

Parrallèlement à l'obtention du label Bio, le Domaine des Palais se diversifie avec une nouvelle forme d’accueil.  Accompagné de Sylvie, son épouse, Yann Palais modernise le site avec la création d’une salle et un accueil tourné vers l’œnotourisme.

2011

Plantation de deux nouveaux cépages sur le domaine, le Roussane (7 000 m²), première récolte en 2011 et le Gewurztraminer (6 300m²), première récolte en 2012.

 

2022

François (à droite) rejoint l’exploitation et vinifie ses premières cuvées. Fort de nombreuses expériences dans des domaines viticoles - France, Suisse, Argentine - aux renommées internationales, il apporte technique et  savoir-faire.

2023

C'est au tour de Jean-Baptiste, ainé de la fratrie, de s'engager dans le domaine familial après une carrière dans une branche tout aussi française de la gastronomie : le Fromage !

bottom of page